Failure to Turn Over CDS to Law Enforcement
Sussex and Warren County NJ Drug Charges Lawyers
Believe it or not, failing to turn over a controlled dangerous substance to the nearest law enforcement officer is a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey. In other words, possessing a controlled dangerous substance is one crime, but not turning the drugs over to the police is a completely separate offense. So, whether you are caught with marijuana, cocaine, heroin, or prescription pills and you are facing charges for the possession, you may also be charged for failing to deliver the controlled dangerous substance to the nearest police officer. If you were charged with failing to turn over drugs to law enforcement in Warren County or Sussex County, the NJ drug charges defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm can help you fight these charges. We have successfully handled drug cases including charges of failing to turn over controlled dangerous substances in superior courts and municipal courts in Sparta, Phillipsburg, Frankford Township, Hackettstown, and across New Jersey. If you have been charged with a drug crime in Sussex or Warren County, we are ready to defend your case and work to achieve the best possible outcome. Simply contact us today at 973-755-1695 to discuss your specific charges and receive a cost-free consultation.
Failure to Turn Over Drugs to a Law Enforcement Officer in NJ
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(c), any person who knowingly obtains or possess a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a) and who fails to voluntarily deliver the substance to the nearest law enforcement officer is guilty of a disorderly persons offense. Thus, if you knowingly and unlawfully obtain or possess, actually or constructively, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog without a prescription and you did not voluntarily deliver those drugs to the closest police officer, you may be charged with failing to turn over.
As with all disorderly persons offenses in New Jersey, the penalty for failing to turn over a controlled dangerous substance to the nearest law enforcement officer includes up to six months in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. Additionally, N.J.S.A. 2C:35-15 imposes a drug enforcement and demand reduction penalty of $500 and N.J.S.A. 2C:35-16 requires a loss of driver’s license for six months to two years. Thus, even though failing to turn over a controlled dangerous substance is a disorderly persons offense, the penalties are severe: up to approximately $1,500 in fines and fees, jail time, and a loss of license.
Contact Phillipsburg NJ Failure to Turn Over Drugs Lawyers Today
If you are charged with failure to turn over a controlled dangerous substance in Warren County or Sussex County, you want the Tormey Law Firm to be on your side. Our experienced NJ drug charges defense lawyers are ready to fight to get the charges dismissed and help you avoid the excessive penalties. Call 973-755-1695 for your free consultation.