Hackettstown NJ First Offense DWI Lawyers
DUI Defense Attorneys in Sussex and Warren County, New Jersey
If you’ve been issued a traffic citation for a DWI in New Jersey, it’s important to consult with an experienced NJ DWI defense attorney. The penalties for a first offense driving while intoxicated in New Jersey vary depending on the driver’s blood alcohol content, but will definitely carry a loss of license from three to twelve months, no matter what and without exception. Unlike other states, New Jersey does not have any type of work or school exceptions to the license suspension penalties associated with a DWI/DUI. In addition to the license suspension, and depending on the driver’s blood alcohol level, the penalties for a first DWI also include fines, potential incarceration, attending the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (“IDRC”), and installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. The New Jersey DWI defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm have handled thousands of DWI and DUI cases in municipal courts in New Jersey, including courts in Hackettstown, Sparta, Phillipsburg, Frankford, and throughout Sussex and Warren County. Contact our highly experienced New Jersey DUI defense lawyers to discuss your specific circumstances and receive a cost-free initial consultation.
Here is a review from one of our many satisfied DWI clients: “Saved me from a DUI. HIGHLY recommended”
Posted by Dave
“I highly recommend Travis and his law firm. A year ago I got into an accident,blood drawn, DUI. I knew I was facing life changing charges. Travis was able to get me off with no charges! When the judge reached a verdict, he mentioned the “good work of my attorney” that prevented them from proceeding with my prosecution. It is safe to say Travis saved my life and if your in a tough spot I highly recommend Travis to be your attorney.”
Contact our Sussex County DWI lawyers now for immediate assistance at 973-755-1695. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge.
First Offense DWI Attorneys in Sparta NJ
There are three categories of penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1)(i) through (iii) for a first DWI offense in New Jersey: 0.08% to 0.99%, 0.10% to 0.14%, and 0.15% and over.
If the person’s blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher but less than 0.10%, or the person operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, the driver is subject to a fine of not less than $250 nor more than $400 and a period of detainment of not less than 12 hours nor more than 48 hours spent during two consecutive days of not less than six hours each day and served as prescribed by the program requirements of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers and, in the discretion of the court, a term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days and the driver shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of three months.
If the driver’s BAC is 0.10% or higher, the driver is subject to a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $500 and a period of detainment of not less than 12 hours nor more than 48 hours spent during two consecutive days of not less than six hours each day and served as prescribed by the program requirements of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers and, in the discretion of the court, a term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days and he driver tshall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of not less than seven months nor more than one year.
Additionally, pursuant to R.S. 39:4-50.17(a)(2), if the first offender’s blood alcohol concentration is 0.15% or higher, the court shall order, in addition to any other penalty imposed under R.S.39:4-50, the installation of an ignition interlock device in the motor vehicle principally operated by the offender during and following the expiration of the period of license suspension imposed under that section. In addition to installation during the period of license suspension, the device shall remain installed for not less than six months or more than one year, commencing immediately upon the return of the offender’s driver’s license after the required period of suspension has been served.
Contact Frankford NJ First DWI Offense Lawyers for a Free Consultation
The bottom line is that the penalties for a first offense DWI can drastically impact your life. If you’ve been issued a citation for DWI in Warren County or Sussex County, contact the New Jersey DWI defense team at the Tormey Law Firm to take the first step in defending your case. One of our highly experienced DUI lawyers will analyze your case and explain the ways that we can fight for your defense.
Contact our Warren County NJ DWI defense team now for a free initial consultation at 973-755-1695.