Domestic Violence Simple Assault Charges under N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a) Dismissed
Simple Assault Disorderly Persons Charges
Domestic Violence Defense in Wantage Court, New Jersey
Do you need an attorney for a domestic violence case in Sussex County? We can help.
The Sussex County NJ criminal defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm LLC recently represented a client who was charged with simple assault under N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a) after an alleged domestic violence incident in Stillwater in Sussex County, New Jersey. Our client had no prior criminal history and he and his girlfriend had a verbal argument where he allegedly attempted to take her cell phone and there was a scuffle. She had no injuries for the alleged incident. On a simple assault disorderly persons charge in New Jersey, he was facing a $1,000 fine, up to six (6) months in the Sussex County jail, probation, and a permanent criminal charge on his record (that can be expunged in 3-5 years in certain cases).
We appeared in the Wantage Municipal Court after receiving the discovery package (evidence) from the State. The defendant’s girlfriend did not want to proceed with the charges and expressed that to the prosecutor and the Judge. The State agreed to carry the case for sixty (60) days and dismiss the charges at the end of that period as long as there were no other incidents between the parties during that time. This is sometimes called a “carry order” in Municipal Court. We appeared in court a second time at the end of the carry order and the charges were completely dismissed against the defendant.
Now, he was able to file an expedited expungement immediately to have the arrest removed from his record. He has no criminal history from this case because the charges were dismissed. However, there is still a record of the arrest which would show up on a background check for work, school, professional licenses, etc. Once the expungement is processed, then the arrest will be removed as well and then it will no longer appear on the defendant’s criminal history (known as a “CCH”).
Simple Assault Charge in Stillwater NJ – Need Lawyer
If you or a loved one needs assistance with a simple assault charge in Sussex or Warren County NJ, contact our offices anytime for a free initial consultation at 973-755-1695.