Hackettstown Driving without Insurance Lawyers
Handling traffic tickets in Sparta, Allamuchy, Phillipsburg NJ
If you are facing a serious traffic offense such as driving without liability insurance, driving with a suspended license, or leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident, our experienced traffic ticket attorneys can help. Our lawyers have literally handled thousands of these tickets throughout the State of New Jersey including in Newton, Belvidere, Hopatcong and North Warren. In fact, one of our lawyers is a former Municipal Prosecutor and prosecuted these cases for the State of NJ. Contact our attorneys today for immediate assistance at 973-755-1695. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge.
Driving Without Insurance – 39:6B-2
If you own a car that is registered or principally garaged in New Jersey, the law requires that you have car insurance, without exception. In fact, if you are accused of driving without insurance in Sussex and Warren County, you are facing fines and a license suspension even for a first offense. Because there are serious penalties associated with driving a car without insurance, you should contact an experienced traffic defense attorney if you are issued a summons for driving without insurance. The traffic defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm have appeared in municipal courts across New Jersey, including in Sussex and Warren County and they are ready to fight for you if you have been accused of with driving without insurance.
The New Jersey Traffic Code sets forth in R.S. 39:6B-2 that any owner or registrant of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in New Jersey who operates or causes to be operated a motor vehicle upon any public road or highway in New Jersey without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by law, and any operator who causes a motor vehicle to be operated and who knows or should know from the attendant circumstances that the motor vehicle is without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by law shall be subject to penalties. Additionally, according to the traffic code, failure to produce at the time of trial an insurance identification card or an insurance policy which was in force for the time of operation for which the offense is charged creates a rebuttable presumption that the person was uninsured when charged.
The penalties for a first offense of driving without insurance include a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 and a period of community service to be determined by the court and a license suspension of one year. For a subsequent conviction of driving without insurance, the penalties are a fine of up to $5,000, two weeks in jail, 30 days of community service, and a license suspension of two years. However, after the suspension, the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles may exercise discretion in issuing a new driver’s license based upon an assessment of the likelihood that the individual will operate or cause a motor vehicle to be operated in the future without insurance.
No Insurance Ticket Hackettstown NJ? Contact the Tormey Law Firm Today
The bottom line is that the penalties for driving without insurance in New Jersey are harsh and if you are issued a citation for driving without insurance in Sussex or Warren County, you should not hesitate to call the traffic defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm.