Sparta NJ Marijuana Possession Lawyer
Drug Charges Defense Attorneys in Warren and Sussex County, New Jersey
Recreational marijuana is illegal in New Jersey and unfortunately, “it’s just a little bit of weed” is not a legal defense. In fact, the possession of less than 50 grams, or a little under two ounces, of marijuana is a disorderly persons offense that will be heard in the municipal court where the alleged offense occurred. And whether you are caught with a dime bag, an eighth, or forty-nine grams, you will be charged with a disorderly persons offense. Even a little bit of shake on a car seat, in a cigarette pack, or in a ziplock bag can justify drug charges for possession of marijuana. But that doesn’t mean you don’t have the ability to defend your case. In fact, the marijuana defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm have handled marijuana cases in Sparta, Vernon, Hackettstown, Phillipsburg, and throughout New Jersey. They are available to aggressively defend your case in municipal court in Sussex and Warren County. Simply call 973-755-1695 today for a free consultation.
Here is a review from one of the many satisfied Tormey Law Firm clients:
“Elite NJ Marijuana Attorney! 5 Stars!!”
Posted by Jon
“Second time in 18 months Travis has gotten me out of multiple marijuana charges with just court fines. No probation, no loss of license, just pay the fine. (Decent little fine tho hear in NJ). But by nj state law with all my charges was facing a potential 2 year loss of license, probation and even jail! I enjoy the occasional smoke so probation was something that was terrifying. That was no obstacle for Mr. Travis Tormey and his team as I left court with just a fine and no other punishment.Hiring Travis made my entire situation way less stressful. Travis is an excellent defense attorney and from my experiences with him shows very strong knowledge of constitutional rights, yet blends that with superb negotiating skills in court as well as tremendous charisma in front of the judge. Travis and his team do a great job of not only taking the stres out of the process but as well as getting you the best legal representation you could hope for. Also very nonjudgemental and didn’t seem to think negatively of me as a person, not that it matters. If you are facing marijuana charges in nj I highly recommend Mr. Travis Tormey as an elite attorney. He will do a great job and most importantly does not make false promises but delivers the goods on game day. Excellent attorney, and the head of a tremendous team.. 5 stars.”
Possession of Marijuana Lawyer in Hackettstown NJ
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, it is unlawful for any person, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, possess, actually or constructively, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog, unless the substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription. Regarding marijuana, possession of 50 grams or less, including any adulterants or dilutants, or five grams or less of hashish is a disorderly persons offense. N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(4).
Currently, the only permissible exceptions for medical marijuana in New Jersey are outlined in the Compassionate Use of Medical Marijuana Act (“CUMMA”), N.J.S.A. 24:6I-1 et seq. which authorizes the possession and use of medical marijuana to treat or alleviate pain associated with the following medical conditions: seizure disorders, including epilepsy; intractable skeletal muscular spasticity; glaucoma; human immunodeficiency virus; acquired immune deficiency syndrome; cancer; amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; multiple sclerosis; terminal cancer; muscular dystrophy; inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease; terminal illness with a prognosis of less than twelve months of life; and post-traumatic stress disorder. But, the bottom line is that if you don’t have a CUMMA prescription for marijuana, you cannot legally possess or use marijuana in New Jersey.
What Happens if You are Found Guilty of Marijuana Possession in New Jersey?
The general penalties for a disorderly persons offense such as the possession less than 50 grams of marijuana include a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail. However, drug offenses in New Jersey including a disorderly persons offense for possession of marijuana impose additional penalties. Specifically, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-15(e) the drug enforcement and demand reduction penalty of $500 will be imposed in addition to and not in lieu of any fine authorized by law. Furthermore, under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-16(a) a person convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for a CDS violation shall forthwith forfeit the right to operate a motor vehicle for a period not less than six months or more than two years which shall commence on the day the sentence is imposed unless the court finds compelling circumstances warranting an exception such as extreme hardship.
Contact Phillipsburg NJ Marijuana Defense Lawyers for a Free Consultation
The New Jersey marijuana defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm in Sussex and Warren County understand that you have a lot to lose if you’re convicted of possessing marijuana and we’re ready to put our experience and defense skills to work defending your case today. Call now for a free consultation about your marijuana charges.