Warren County Robbery Defense Lawyers
Handling Robbery Charges under N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1 in Belvidere, NJ
Robbery is more than simply taking something that doesn’t belong to you – it requires some use of force or infliction of injury in addition to the underlying theft. In other words, robbery is a theft, and then some. But in any circumstance in which a theft occurs in Sussex or Warren County and there is an injury, threat of injury, or the commission of any other first or second degree crime, robbery will be charged as either a first or second degree crime, depending on the circumstances and the case will be handled in the New Jersey Superior Court, Criminal Division, in the county where the alleged offense occurred. Thus, if you are accused of robbery in Sussex or Warren County, the stakes are high. Fortunately, the experienced robbery defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm who have successfully defended first and second degree crimes throughout the State are only one phone call away from defending your robbery case in Sussex or Warren County.
Robbery: N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1
According to N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1(a), person is guilty of robbery if, in the course of committing a theft, he: 1) inflicts bodily injury or uses force upon another; or 2) threatens another with or purposely puts him in fear of immediate bodily injury; or 3) commits or threatens immediately to commit any crime of the first or second degree. Additionally, pursuant to the New Jersey Criminal Code, an act shall be deemed to be included in the phrase “in the course of committing a theft” if it occurs in an attempt to commit theft or in immediate flight after the attempt or commission. In other word, the totality of the circumstances is important to determine whether or not the crime of of robbery actually occurred before, during, and after the underlying theft offense. For example, if immediately after a theft that occurred without the use of force the actor is fleeing from the scene and encounters another person and the actor injures or threatens to injure the person, those actions may lead to criminal charges of robbery.
N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1(b) sets forth that robbery is a crime of the second degree, except that it is a crime of the first degree if in the course of committing the theft the actor attempts to kill anyone, or purposely inflicts or attempts to inflict serious bodily injury, or is armed with, or uses or threatens the immediate use of a deadly weapon. Under the New Jersey sentencing provisions, a second degree crime is punishable by five to ten years in prison and up to a $150,000 fine and a first degree crime imposes a prison sentence of ten to twenty years and a fine of up to $200,000.
Contact the Sussex County Robbery Lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm Now
Clearly, the potential consequences for a robbery conviction are severe and if you are charged with robbery in Sussex or Warren County, you should not hesitate to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer who has handled robbery cases in the past. The robbery defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm have defended countless clients in Superior Court across New Jersey and they are ready to fight for you in Sussex and Warren County. Contact our offices now for a free initial consultation at 973-755-1695.