Warren County Criminal Sexual Contact Lawyers
Handling Sex Crime Allegations in Hackettstown, Phillipsburg, and Vernon NJ
If you or a loved one is facing an allegation regarding sexual misconduct in New Jersey, contact the attorneys at our firm now for immediate assistance at 973-755-1695. Whether it be criminal sexual contact, sexual assault, or endangering the welfare of a child, it is imperative that you hire an experienced sex crimes defense attorney before speaking with authorities. An allegation like this can ruin your life, your reputation, and your family. Let our criminal defense team combat these serious charges for you in court.
If you are charged with criminal sexual contact in Sussex or Warren County, New Jersey, your case will be handled in the New Jersey Superior Court, Criminal Division in the county where the alleged offense occurred. Additionally, it is important to know that certain sex crimes in New Jersey, including aggravated criminal sexual contact and criminal sexual contact against a minor victim require sex offender registration. The criminal sexual contact defense lawyers at our offices have handled sex crimes cases, including criminal sexual contact, in superior courts throughout New Jersey and regardless of the allegations against you, you should contact us today.
Criminal Sexual Contact – N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3
According to N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3(a), an actor is guilty of aggravated criminal sexual contact if he commits an act of sexual contact with the victim under any circumstances set forth in N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2(a)(2) through (7). Those circumstances focus on the age of the victim, the relationship between the actor and the victim, use of force, and injuries suffered by the victim. In other situations, N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2(b) sets forth that an actor is guilty of criminal sexual contact if he commits an act of sexual contact with the victim under any of the circumstances set forth in N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2(c)(1) through (4), which set forth different parameters than aggravated criminal sexual contact. Under the New Jersey Criminal Code, sexual contact is defined at N.J.S.A. 2C:14-1(d) and means an intentional touching by the victim or actor, either directly or through clothing, of the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing or sexually gratifying the actor. Sexual contact of the actor with himself must be in view of the victim whom the actor knows to be present. N.J.S.A. 2C:14-1(e) defines intimate parts as sexual organs, genital area, anal area, inner thigh, groin, buttock or breast.
Pursuant to the criminal code, aggravated criminal sexual contact is a crime of the third degree and criminal sexual contact is a crime of the fourth degree. The general penalties for a third degree crime include three to five years in prison and up to at $15,000 fine and for a fourth degree crime up to eighteen months in prison and up to at $10,000 fine. However, aggravated criminal sexual contact and criminal sexual contact in cases where the victim is a minor are considered Megan’s Law offenses pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:7-2(b) that requires registration as a sex offender. Additionally, criminal sexual contact imposes enhanced financial penalties under N.J.S.A. 2C:14-10: $750 when the conviction is a crime of the third degree and $500 when the conviction is a crime of the fourth degree.
Contact our Sussex County Sex Crime Lawyers Now
If you are accused of criminal sexual contact, call us to take the first and most important step of your defense. Our attorneys are available now for a free initial consultation at 973-755-1695.