Lopatcong Theft by Deception Lawyers
Theft Defense Attorneys in Warren and Sussex County, New Jersey
The New Jersey Criminal Code, under N.J.S.A. 2C:20-4, sets forth that a person is guilty of theft by deception if he purposely obtains property of another by deception. In other words, it is illegal to utilize false impressions to gain possession of something that belongs to another person and, depending on the value of the stolen property, the charges could be up to a second degree crime. In fact, the level of charge for theft by deception is determined by N.J.S.A. 2C:20-2 and it will be a crime of the second degree if the amount involved is $75,000 or more; a crime of the third degree if the amount involved exceeds $500 but is less than $75,000; a crime of the fourth degree if the amount involved is at least $200 but does not exceed $500; and a disorderly persons offense if the amount involved was less than $200. The New Jersey theft defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm have handled theft cases in Lopatcong, Belvidere, Newton, Andover, Phillipsburg, and across New Jersey. If you are charged with theft by deception in Sussex County or Warren County, you can count on the Tormey Law Firm to defend your case. Simply call 973-755-1695 today to discuss your case and learn more about how we can fight your charges. Consultations are always provided free of charge.
Theft by Deception Defense Lawyers in Newton NJ
According to N.J.S.A. 2C:20-4(a), a person deceives if he purposely creates or reinforces a false impression, including false impressions as to law, value, intention or other state of mind, and including, but not limited to, a false impression that the person is soliciting or collecting funds for a charitable purpose; but deception as to a person’s intention to perform a promise shall not be inferred from the fact alone that he did not subsequently perform the promise. Additionally, under N.J.S.A. 2C:20-4(b), a person deceives if he purposely prevents another from acquiring information which would affect his judgment of a transaction. Finally, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:20-4(c), a person deceives if he purposely fails to correct a false impression which the deceiver previously created or reinforced, or which the deceiver knows to be influencing another to whom he stands in a fiduciary or confidential relationship. However, the term “deceive” does not include falsity as to matters having no pecuniary significance, or puffing or exaggeration by statements unlikely to deceive ordinary persons.
The penalties for theft by deception will depend on the grading of the offense and will be as follows: for second degree criminal mischief a fine of up to $150,000 and imprisonment of five to ten years; for third degree criminal mischief a fine of up to $15,000 and imprisonment of three to five years; for fourth degree criminal mischief a fine of up to $10,000 and imprisonment of up to 18 months; and for a disorderly persons offense of criminal mischief a fine of up to $1,000 and up to six months in jail.
Contact Hackettstown Theft by Deception Attorneys for a Free Consultation
As with all criminal cases, a strong defense relies on a careful analysis of the underlying fact and a meticulous review of the prosecution’s evidence. The experienced NJ theft defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm in Sussex and Warren County have defended numerous theft by deception matters and if you have been accused of theft by deception, we are only one call away from fighting for you.