Phillipsburg NJ Shoplifting Lawyers
Criminal Defense Attorneys in Warren and Sussex County, New Jersey
Shoplifting has a very lengthy definition under the New Jersey Criminal Code but, essentially, it boils down to stealing something from a store. Shoplifting charges in New Jersey depend on the value of the items alleged to have been taken and the offense can be charged as either a disorderly persons offense, or a fourth, third, or second degree crime. Thus, in addition to having a permanent record of the offense, the penalties for shoplifting range from fines of $1,000 to $150,000 and from up to 6 months in jail or up to ten years in prison, as well as community service and potential mandatory jail time.
The criminal defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm have handled shoplifting cases in municipal and superior courts throughout Sussex and Warren county, including those in Phillipsburg, Frankford, Sparta, Hackettstown, and Vernon. To discuss your shoplifting case with one of our highly knowledgeable defense lawyers and learn how we can fight the charges against you, contact our offices today at 973-755-1695 for a cost-free consultation.
Here is a review from one of the many satisfied Tormey Law Firm clients:
“Exceeded my expectations, Highly Professional Attorney”
Posted by John
“Mr. Tormey is a great attorney and very knowledgeable not only with the entire array of municipal court statutes processes and procedures but also superior court matters. You can rely on Travis to find the most effective method of disposing of your matter without the hidden or additional penalties. Travis was very well known and respected in the municipal courts where he represented me and it made a difference as the prosecutor and Judge acknowledged him and were more then willing to work out the best results for me. Travis will give it to you straight and completely explain how the procedure will go, as he fights your case aggressively. Great Attorney”
Shoplifting Defense Lawyer in Sparta NJ
Under the New Jersey Criminal Code, N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11(b), shoplifting can be charged in many situations. For example, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11(b)(1), it is considered shoplifting for a person to take possession of, carry away, transfer or cause to be carried away or transferred, any merchandise displayed, held, stored or offered for sale by any store or other retail mercantile establishment with the intention of depriving the merchant of the possession, use or benefit of such merchandise or converting the same to the use of such person without paying to the merchant the full retail value thereof. But shoplifting can also be alleged if the defendant concealed merchandise with the intention to deprive the merchant of the possession of the item without paying for it, removed labels or price tags to attempt to purchase the merchandise at less than retail price, or took a shopping cart away from store premises without consent of the merchant.
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11(c), shoplifting is a disorderly persons offense if the alleged value of the item is $200.00 or less; a fourth degree crime if the alleged value of the item is between $200.00 and $500.00; a third degree crime if the alleged value is between $500.00 and $75,000.00; and a second degree crime if the alleged value is over $75,000.00.
Potential Consequences of Shoplifting in New Jersey
Under the New Jersey sentencing guidelines, the penalties for shoplifting for are as follows: disorderly persons shoplifting: fines up to $1000 and up to 6 months in jail; fourth degree shoplifting: fines up to $10,000 and up to 18 months in prison; third degree shoplifting: fines up to $15,000 and up to five years in prison; and a second degree shoplifting: fines up to $150,000 and up to ten years in prison. And, according to N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11(c)(4), in addition to the potential fines and possible incarceration, any person convicted of a shoplifting offense shall be sentenced to perform community services as follows: for a first offense, at least ten day of community service; for a second offense, at least fifteen days of community service; and for a third or subsequent offense, a maximum of twenty-five days of community service. Additionally, any person convicted of a third or subsequent shoplifting offense shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of not less than 90 days, without exception.
Contact Hackettstown NJ Shoplifting Defense Lawyers Today
If you are charged with shoplifting in Sussex or Warren county, contact the defense team at the Tormey Law Firm to discuss your charges, learn about the potential consequences, and what can be done to fight to get the shoplifting charges dismissed. Initial consultations are always provided free of charge.