Sparta DWI Penalties Defense Lawyers
Fighting DUI Charges in Sussex and Warren County, New Jersey
If you are convicted of a DWI in New Jersey, you will lose your license. Period. New Jersey does not allow for a “work” or “school” license after a driver is found guilty of a DWI. But it is also important to know that a DWI offense is not a criminal charge in New Jersey and that the record will only be maintained on the driver’s abstract and not as a “criminal record.” However, the immediate fines, penalties, license suspension and possible jail time associated with a DWI in New Jersey can drastically and adversely affect your day-to-day life.
If you are charged with a DWI in Sussex or Warren county, it is imperative to contact the DWI defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm. We have handled literally thousands of DWI cases in Sparta, Hackettstown, Vernon, Phillipsburg, Frankford, Washington Borough, and throughout New Jersey. We have attorneys on staff who are certified operators of the Alcotest 7110 and who are certified to administer field sobriety tests. In other words, we have the knowledge, experience, and resources to effectively fight for you. Contact us today at 973-755-1695 to discuss your case and receive a cost-free consultation.
Here is a review from one of our many satisfied DWI clients: “Saved me from a DUI. HIGHLY recommended”
Posted by Dave
“I highly recommend Travis and his law firm. A year ago I got into an accident,blood drawn, DUI. I knew I was facing life changing charges. Travis was able to get me off with no charges! When the judge reached a verdict, he mentioned the “good work of my attorney” that prevented them from proceeding with my prosecution. It is safe to say Travis saved my life and if your in a tough spot I highly recommend Travis to be your attorney.”
What are the Consequences of a DWI in New Jersey?
The sentencing provisions and penalties for DWI’s in New Jersey depend on whether or not the driver has any prior DWIs. For a first DWI offense, the blood alcohol content, or “BAC” determines the applicable punishment; but with a second or subsequent DWI, all that matters is that the driver’s BAC is over the legal limit. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1)(i), the penalties for a first DWI when the BAC is between 0.08% and 0.01% are: fines of $250- $400, jail time of up to 30 days, loss of driver’s license for 30 days, Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (“IDRC”) for 12-48 hours, and an ignition interlock device for 3 months to 6 months (after the license suspension). If the BAC for a first DWI is above 0.01%, the penalties are: fines of $300 to $500, jail time of up to 30 days, loss of driver’s license for 45 days, Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for 12-48 hours, and an ignition interlock device for 6 months to 1 year (after the license suspension). And, if the driver’s if BAC is 0.15% or above, the loss of driver’s license is for 90 days and the ignition interlock device is mandatory for 12 months to 18 months.
For a second DWI, regardless of the driver’s blood alcohol content, if the BAC is over 0.08%, the penalties under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(2) are: fines of $500 to $1,000, jail time of up to 90 days, loss of driver’s license for two (2) years, IDRC for 48 hours, community service for 30 days, and a mandatory interlock device for 1 to 3 years (after the license suspension). For a third or subsequent DWI in New Jersey, if the BAC is over 0.08%, the penalties according to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(3) are: fines totaling $1,000, jail time for 180 days, loss of driver’s license for ten (10) years, IDRC as determined on a case-by-case basis, and a mandatory interlock device for 1 to 3 years upon the return of the driver’s license after the required period of suspension has been served.
Contact Phillipsburg DWI Defense Attorneys for a Free Consultation
If you’re arrested and issued a summons for a DWI in Sussex or Warren County, the potential consequences are harsh and the courts do not have any discretion whatsoever to bend the rules for anyone because of the public policy that deems driving while intoxicated to be extremely dangerous. The point is, no judge will feel bad that the penalties are an inconvenience to you or that you might lose your job because of an inability to get to work. The only way to fight a DWI is to challenge the legality of the case. That’s where the DWI defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm come in. We have fought thousands of DWI cases and we know how to analyze every nuanced aspect of your case to determine the most effective defense strategy – and we’re only one phone call away from fighting for you. Simply call 973-755-1695 to begin developing your best DWI defense.