3rd Offense DWI/DUI Defense Lawyers Sparta NJ
DUI/DWI Defense Lawyers in Hackettstown, Phillipsburg, and Andover NJ
The penalties for a third or subsequent DUI in New Jersey include mandatory jail time of 180 days. If you’ve been arrested in Sussex or Warren County and issued a citation for your third or subsequent driving while intoxicated offense, you should contact Tormey Law Firm to discuss your defense. The Sussex and Warren County DWI/DUI defense team at the Tormey Law Firm consists of experienced defense lawyers who have handled thousands of driving under the influence and driving while intoxicated matters in Sussex and Warren County including in Andover, Newton, Belvidere, and Hopatcong. Additionally, our team includes a certified field sobriety test instructor, a certified Alcotest operator, and a former NJ DWI prosecutor.
The bottom line is that a conviction of a third or subsequent driving under the influence offense in Warren or Sussex County will change your life and you should contact the Tormey Law Firm to learn about your defense options and how we can help combat these serious charges at 973-755-1695.
Here is a review from one of our many satisfied DWI clients: “Saved me from a DUI. HIGHLY recommended”
Third Offense DWI Charges in NJ
Pursuant to R.S. 39:4-50(a), a person who operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood or permits another person who is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug to operate a motor vehicle owned by him or in his custody or control or permits another to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood is considered to be driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence.
Potential Penalties for a 3rd or Subsequent DWI Charge in New Jersey
The penalties for a third or subsequent driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated conviction include a fine of $1,000, a ten year license suspension, imprisonment for a term of not less than 180 days in a county jail, except that the court may lower such term for each day, not exceeding 90 days, served participating in a drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program approved by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and an ignition interlock device for not less than one year or more than three years, commencing immediately upon the return of the offender’s driver’s license after the required period of suspension has been served. In other words, the punishment for a third or subsequent DWI in New Jersey includes jail time, no matter what, because the courts do not have discretion when it comes to the mandatory jail sentences for DUIs in New Jersey.
If you are facing a third or subsequent DWI/DUI in Sussex or Warren County, contact the Tormey Law Firm immediately at 973-755-1695. The initial consultation is always provided at no cost to you.