Warren County BB Gun Charge Defense Lawyers
Felony gun charges defense in Belvidere, New Jersey
Do you need a lawyer for a BB gun charge in Warren County? We can help.
The Warren County criminal defense team at the Tormey Law Firm just helped another satisfied client avoid a criminal record in the New Jersey Superior Court, Criminal Division, in Belvidere, New Jersey. Initially, out client was facing multiple third degree weapons charges for the unlawful possession of weapons pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:39(b) and (c) and a charge for third degree possession of a controlled dangerous substance under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(1). Because of these charges, our client was facing three to five years in prison for each offense, fines of up to $15,000 for the gun charges and a fine of up to $35,000 for the drug charge. Fortunately, the client contacted the Warren County drug and weapons defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm and we were able to resolve the case through pretrial intervention and our client does not have a record of any criminal convictions.
The facts of this case were relatively simple: our client was pulled over on Route 80 in Warren County and State Troopers saw a BB gun pistol in plain view in the back seat of the car, prompting a motor vehicle search. Then, the Troopers found three air rifles, not being transported in proper carry cases as well as a bag containing a suspected controlled dangerous substance. Under the New Jersey Criminal Code, the possession, actually or constructively, of a controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, classified in schedule I, II, III, or IV other than marijuana and hashish, is a crime of the third degree, carrying a three to five year prison sentence and an enhanced fine of up to $35,000. Additionally, a conviction for a third degree charge for possession of a controlled dangerous substance imposes a $1,000 drug enforcement demand and reduction penalty and a driver’s license suspension of six months to two years.
As for the weapons offenses, the criminal statutes set forth that the possession of a BB gun pistol is third degree crime and, similarly, any person who knowingly has in his possession any rifle or shotgun without having first obtained a firearms purchaser identification card is guilty of a crime of the third degree. Those charges subject the defendant to three to five years in prison, with mandatory prison terms set forth in N.J.S.A. 2C:43-6(c) and a fine of up to $15,000. The bottom line with this case was that our client could have ended up in prison as a result of the motor vehicle stop and now, he is admitted into pretrial intervention and does not have a record of a criminal conviction.
Arrested, Charged with a BB gun in Warren County? Call Us
If you are facing criminal charges in Warren or Sussex County, the criminal defense team at the Tormey Law Firm is ready to fight for you in the New Jersey Superior Court, Criminal Division. Our attorneys have successfully handled cases for clients accused of unlawful possession of firearms as well as possession of a controlled dangerous substance and if you have been accused of similar crimes in Warren or Sussex County, the Tormey Law Firm is ready to help. Contact our Warren County NJ gun lawyers now for immediate assistance at 973-755-1695.