Frankford NJ Driving with a Suspended License Lawyers
Traffic Defense Attorneys in Sussex and Warren County, New Jersey
Driving with a suspended license in Sussex County or Warren County, New Jersey, will result in fines, an additional license suspension and jail time for a repeat offense. When it comes to driving on a suspended license, R.S. 39:3-40 sets forth that no person to whom a driver’s license has been refused or whose driver’s license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked, or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal, suspension, revocation, or prohibition. Additionally, no person whose motor vehicle registration has been revoked shall operate or permit the operation of the motor vehicle during the period of such revocation. If you have received a summons or citation for driving with a suspended license, the New Jersey traffic defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm can help. We are fully familiar with the traffic code, available defenses, and we have appeared and successfully defended driving on suspended license cases in Hackettstown, Phillipsburg, Sparta, Frankford, Washington Borough, and throughout New Jersey. Contact us today at 973-755-1695 to learn how we can help you begin building your best defense strategy. We are available 24/7 to provide free initial consultations.
Driving with a Suspended License in New Jersey
The statute makes no exception for any circumstances in which it is permissible to drive while on a suspended license. Accordingly, the punishments for driving on a suspended license are harsh. The general penalties for driving on a suspended driver’s license are as follows: for a first offense: a fine of $500 and an additional six-month license suspension; for a second offense: a fine of $750, an additional six-month license suspension and one to five days in jail; and for a third or subsequent offense: a fine of $1,000, an additional six-month license suspension, and ten days in jail. And in some situations, such as causing an accident, driving with a license that was suspended due to not having insurance, or driving on a license suspended as the result of driving while intoxicated, there are penalty enhancements that will increase the fines and applicable term of imprisonment.
Specifically, if a driver with a suspended license is involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury to another person, the court shall impose a period of imprisonment for not less than 45 days or more than 180 days. If a driver with a suspended license that was suspended due to a failure to have car insurance, then there is an additional $500 penalty, an additional suspension of not less than one year nor more than two years, and potential incarceration for not more than 90 days. Finally, a driver with a suspended license as the result of driving while intoxicated shall be fined $500, shall have their driver’s license suspended for an additional period of not less than one year or more than two years, and shall be imprisoned in the county jail for not less than 10 days or more than 90 days.
Contact Washington Borough Driving while Suspended Lawyers for a Free Consultation
In any event, if you are accused of driving with a suspended license, the NJ traffic defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm who have handled driving on suspended license cases in municipal courts throughout New Jersey, including Sussex and Warren County, are available to defend your case. Contact us at 973-755-1695 to learn more about these charges and how we use strategic and highly effective defenses to beat them.