Second Offense DWI Defense Lawyers Hackettstown NJ
Warren and Sussex County DUI Defense for First, Second, and Third Offenders
A second offense drunk driving (DWI) charge can have serious implications including a two-year driver’s license suspension, up to 90 days in jail, fines, alcohol classes, and community service. In addition, you would have to install an ignition interlock device on your motor vehicle.
If you’re facing a second driving while intoxicated offense in Sussex or Warren County, the DWI/DUI defense team at our law firm is ready to help. Our team of attorneys not only includes experienced defense lawyers who have handled thousands of driving while intoxicated and driving under the influence cases in municipal courts in Sussex and Warren County, but also a certified field sobriety test instructor and a certified Alcotest operator. In addition, we have a former NJ DWI prosecutor on staff and a retired NJ state trooper who is a DWI expert on the machine, training, and field sobriety testing. Let our team go to work to defend against your 2nd offense DWI charges in Hackettstown, Phillipsburg, Newton, and Andover.
The penalties for a second DWI offense in New Jersey are harsh and if you’ve been arrested and issued a citation for your second DUI in Sussex or Warren County, look no further than our firm to handle your defense. Contact our offices now for immediate assistance at 973-755-1695. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge.
Here is a review from one of our many satisfied DWI clients:
“A real pro in a time of need – DWI Dismissed.”
Posted by Xavier
“I want to thank The Tormey Law Firm for getting my DWI dismissed. Being at the wrong place at the wrong time could get you in serious trouble. As soon as I called Travis he gave assurance that I had a strong case. Travis and Chris worked together to request the right discovery before trial. I was nervous and stressed during the whole process. The Tormey Law Firm kept me calm and on my feet. As an advice to people who get involved with a DUI/DWI case, don’t believe all the stuff that is online. I read so many articles, blogs and stories from different people. I was making myself crazy. None of what I read was relevant to my case. Let the professionals take care of it.
I appreciate everything you’ve done.”
Second Offense DWI Charges in New Jersey
According to R.S. 39:4-50(a), a person who operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood or permits another person who is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug to operate a motor vehicle owned by him or in his custody or control or permits another to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood is considered to be driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence.
Potential Penalties for a Second DWI/DUI Offense in NJ
The penalties for a second DWI/DUI in New Jersey include a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than $1,000.00, community service for a period of 30 days, imprisonment for a term of not less than 48 consecutive hours, which shall not be suspended or served on probation, nor more than 90 days, but which may be served at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, a two-year license suspension, the installation of an ignition interlock device in the motor vehicle principally operated by the offender during and following the expiration of the period of license suspension for not less than one year or more than three years, commencing immediately upon the return of the offender’s driver’s license after the required period of suspension has been served.
The fact of the matter is that the penalties for a second driving while intoxicated offense in Sussex or Warren County can drastically impact your life and if you are facing a second DWI/DUI the Sussex and Warren County driving under the influence defense attorneys at our firm are ready to help. Contact us now for a free initial consultation at 973-755-1695.